Podcast

The 2012 Vaulties

It’s time to put 2011 to bed with THE 2012 VAULTIES.  Anderson and Bryan go over their favorite films from last year.  Then, the guys go over their picks for who will win which awards at this year’s Oscars.

[audio http://traffic.libsyn.com/tfvpodcast/The_2012_Vaulties.mp3]

Download Link

Featured Artist:  Dead Cat Hat

Click here for a list of the films mentioned in this episode.

 

Bryan’s Oscar Picks

Best Picture – The Artist

Best Director – Martin Scorsese ~ Hugo

George Clooney ~ The Descendants

Best Actress – Rooney Mara ~ The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Best Supporting Actor – Nick Nolte ~ Warrior

Best Supporting Actress – Octavia Spencer ~ The Help

Best Original Screenplay – Midnight In Paris

Best Adapted Screenplay – The Descendants

Anderson’s Oscar Picks

Best Picture – The Artist

Best Director – Michel Hazanavicius ~ The Artist

Best Actor – Brad Pitt

Best Actress – Viola Davis ~ The Help

Best Supporting Actor – Max von Sydow ~ Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

Best Supporting Actress – Bérénice Bejo ~ The Artist

Best Original Screenplay – Midnight In Paris

Best Adapted Screenplay – The Descendants


Discussion

15 thoughts on “The 2012 Vaulties

  1. good list but how has no one mentioned take shelter with michael shannon? that was by far my favorite movie of the year.

    Like

    Posted by travis | April 12, 2012, 2:39 PM
  2. I also loved Resurrect Dead. I thought it was really interesting. Good recommendation Anderson.

    Like

    Posted by moviejunkie | February 29, 2012, 3:25 AM
  3. Just wanted to thank Anderson for bringing up Resurrect Dead. After I heard him talk about it in the past episode I thought it sounded like something I would really enjoy. So I went right out and got it and watched it that night. It was fantastic. One of the best movies I have seen in along time. Thanks for introducing this great movie to me.

    Like

    Posted by Mike B | February 28, 2012, 4:14 PM
  4. This episode is by far the most racist, and offensive episode of Film Vault in its history…Keep up the GREAT work!

    Like

    Posted by Steve Rice | February 28, 2012, 9:28 AM
  5. I have to commend Anderson for his choice of Resurrect Dead. I watched the documentary after he flickfessed it. One of the best documentaries I’ve seen; very thrilling.

    Like

    Posted by Matt | February 27, 2012, 7:25 PM
  6. YEEEAAAHH.. Karl Pilkington!

    Like

    Posted by SteveP | February 27, 2012, 4:59 PM
  7. Get it off!

    Just kidding. My wife and I love the show!

    Like

    Posted by Aaron | February 27, 2012, 9:12 AM
  8. A TIE! But that is just what is posted on the site. You guys said you would do the rest off the air….the listeners need to know–nay– dying to know! Who won?

    OK, maybe no one cares but me. Even I don’t really care that much. Just curious. Get to it when you can. I know you two are busy; Anderson is moving and Bryan has that chemo.

    Thanks for a great show.

    Like

    Posted by icewalker946 | February 27, 2012, 5:18 AM
  9. I found myself channeling Anderson after every single one of Hugo’s wins. Nothing but pure and vitriolic anger. I can’t believe it beat out Tree of Life for cinematography. It was a beautiful film that was stunning to look at. Hugo was boring and overdone.

    …and now, another Scorsese shot!

    Like

    Posted by Nathan W | February 26, 2012, 9:22 PM
  10. 5.) WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN
    4.) SHAME
    3.) MELANCHOLIA
    2.) I SAW THE DEVIL
    1.) HANNA

    Like

    Posted by AAAutin | February 26, 2012, 3:21 PM
  11. Forgot all about “Cedar Rapids”. BB will love that one.

    Like

    Posted by Joe Schenkenberg (@joeyshanks) | February 24, 2012, 2:05 PM
  12. Bridesmaids was SO LONG! It could have trimmed half an hour, no problem, several scenes just went on and on, and I don’t remember ever laughing.

    50/50 was pretty good, but it felt like it should have gone more serious or more comedic, it didn’t quite click for me.

    Like

    Posted by Scott S | February 24, 2012, 2:01 PM
  13. I didnt find bridesmaids all that funny, a few parts were funny but an average comedy

    Like

    Posted by Legendary Burro | February 24, 2012, 6:49 AM
  14. This year’s Oscars remind me of my theory that Christopher Plummer and Max Von Sydow were separated at birth. I believe they’re the same age even if they were allegedly born on different continents.

    Like

    Posted by Hot Nikks | February 24, 2012, 6:16 AM
  15. Most racist episode ever. Not complaining, just stating a fact.

    Still cannot get into Bridesmaids. Too long and the laughs feel forced. When watching it with the wife and at the hour and fifteen mark, she gave up. I stuck around for the rest. I made the wrong choice.

    I do agree with Bryan’s #1. By far, best movie of 2011.

    Like

    Posted by LFC | February 24, 2012, 5:03 AM

Leave a Reply

