Podcast

Top 5 “Classic” Movies That DON’T Hold Up

Dust off the reel-to-reel, this week we’re talking about the TOP 5 “CLASSIC” MOVIES THAT DON’T HOLD UP.  Anderson and Bryan discuss 10 films that are generally considered to be great, but don’t stand the test of time.

[audio http://traffic.libsyn.com/tfvpodcast/Top_5_Classic_Movies_That_Dont_Hold_Up.mp3]

Download Link

Fan Art Contest Winners

Featured Artist: The Sanderlings

Click here for a list of films discussed in this episode.


Discussion

23 thoughts on “Top 5 “Classic” Movies That DON’T Hold Up

  1. FYI I’m a chick & I’ve never seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and I’m not afraid to admit it. I have no real interest in seeing it, but I think I’ve caught it like once on tv while I was doing something else like cleaning my room & didn’t change the channel, but I didn’t see much of it either.
    Wizard of Oz, Al Pacino’s Scarface and Nightmare on Elm Street hold up!!!!!!!

    Like

    Posted by Elle | August 17, 2012, 3:06 PM
  2. Disappointed.
    No mention of the pterodactyls in Citizen Kane? Come on, guys.

    Like

    Posted by eric-the-ded | June 6, 2012, 9:02 PM
  3. Anderson – I watched Vahalla Rising – 12 Apostles – the little boy is Judas. Amazing film.

    Like

    Posted by Rob | June 5, 2012, 5:31 PM
  4. Anderson, when talking about “Daniel Day-Lewis” you mentioned that you saw “Last of the Mohicans” and it doesn’t hold up, but on previous episodes you can’t remember if you’ve seen it. I want a flickfession of “Mohicans” from either you or BB very soon.

    Also, make posters of that Peanuts fan art, and I will buy a print.

    Like

    Posted by Joey Shanks | June 4, 2012, 5:15 PM
  5. Wow, the first segment of show was rough. And by rough I mean damn near unlistenable.

    Like

    Posted by Tom | June 4, 2012, 5:13 PM
  6. Great featured artist!!

    Like

    Posted by Ben Neal | June 4, 2012, 5:22 AM
  7. I’m with you, Sarah, the look on Peanuts Anderson’s face is priceless!

    Like

    Posted by SteveC | June 3, 2012, 4:57 PM
  8. Byran – PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, FOR FUCKS SAKE, STOP INTERRUPTING ANDERSON.

    Like

    Posted by ChicoITGuy | June 2, 2012, 11:31 AM
  9. I know what Valhalla Rising needs for it to be watchable for Bryan — a nice Beatles soundtrack.

    Like

    Posted by Fritz Lieber | June 2, 2012, 8:57 AM
  10. I have said it once I’ll say it again this shit is so rich with a cocktail in hand. The confessions of your flicks is fucking hilarious.

    Like

    Posted by YouWho | June 2, 2012, 12:29 AM
  11. Not my favorite episode guys, it seems like the episodes are getting worse. There are a few exceptions of course, but the topics aren’t very good anymore. I knew that Anderson was going to pick Citizen Kane, and that Bryan was going to rant about Breakfast at Tiffany’s. This just didn’t really go good as a stand alone episode because you have had conversations about both of those movies on other episodes. I also prefer when the lists are positive, that suggest movies instead of talking about how horrible the movies are. Anywho, I hope that next week is better and the lists won’t be as predictable.

    Like

    Posted by Chantel | June 1, 2012, 3:26 PM
    • I disagree. This was one of my favorite episodes in a while. And I agreed with Anderson and Bryan on almost all their movie pics (I think I’ve seen all of them except Bullitt), including Anderson’s calling out Citizen Kane. I think their case against Breakfast with Tiffany’s is a bit overblown, though Bryan has correctly pointed out that by modern standards the representation of the Asian landlord character is wildly racist, but all the other calls were dead on – Citizen Kane is very important, but not very enjoyable. The Third Man is far better as far as Orson Welles films go. My Left Foot falls into the long line of films where an actor playing a disabled person gives a great performance and wins an Oscar but the film itself is, eh. Rebel Without a Cause is pretty laughable when viewed by a modern audience. Dracula is not at all scary. Good job, guys. I liked it.

      Like

      Posted by Wendy | June 1, 2012, 4:00 PM
  12. i’ve ranted about this before, and i am sorry, but i have to call out bryan on his claim that network doesn’t hold up. it was released in 1976 and essentially foresaw exactly the state of news/television that exists now. news as entertainment in the interest of turning a profit, people whoring themselves out for celebrity, fortune telling as fact, angry punditry and female premature ejaculation. there is no more prescient film made in the last 50 years.

    don’t force me to unclick through and return the drill press. i am mad as hell and i am not going to take this any more!

    Like

    Posted by johnny queso | June 1, 2012, 2:34 PM
    • You are absolutely right. I thought the exact same thing. The news division of networks used to be seperate from the entertainment divisions, now they exist together. Just as Network predicted.

      Like

      Posted by Abbi | June 5, 2012, 5:51 PM
  13. I generally really enjoy this podcast. It and the BS Report are the only two I listen to regularly. That being said, I’m finding The Film Vault more and more frustrating to get through. They seem to spend more and more time interrupting each other (Bryan has been particularly bad for this recently) with comments that are completely useless and add nothing to the current discussion. I found it particularly annoying during the flickfessions segment of this episode, to the point where I stopped listening.

    Otherwise, this is a great show. I’ve seen some movies I never would have heard of\bothered with thanks to Anderson and Bryan (two recent ones were Tucker and Dale vs Evil and Chronicle, both awesome). Love the lists and love the gambling segment. Keep up the good work, just stop with so many interruptions.

    Like

    Posted by Drew | June 1, 2012, 12:12 PM
  14. That fan art pwns all.

    Re: Bullitt.. I attended a 40th anniversary showing of Bullitt at Arclight in ’08 mostly because I love McQueen’s work. I agree that it’s not one of his better films. Some of the things that Robert Vaughn and Jacqueline Bisset said about it were….. uncomfortable. Vaughn (paraphrasing): “When I read the script I just rejected it totally because I thought that it needed A LOT of work. Then they came back to me with a new, much larger monetary offer. I accepted. I’m a little embarrassed to say that the script had not changed.” Bisset: “At one point I asked Peter Yates why my character was even needed in this film. Frankly, I still don’t know why she was needed.” (Side note: other than the obvious eye candy angle, I agree.)
    However, Vaughn later said that McQueen was “the finest movie star with whom I had the pleasure of working.”

    Re: Hard Day’s Night.. As John Lennon’s bios state, he hated Lester’s directing and thought that it could have been a much better film.

    Re: Citizen Kane… Years ago, an otherwise very bright screenwriting teacher told our class that it doesn’t hold up simply because people are researching Kane’s life at the beginning, and it keeps cutting back to them, which takes away from the whole film. Later I realized that one of my favorite movies ever and Downey’s best work– CHAPLIN– does mostly the same thing with Chaplin reminiscing with a researcher… soooooo, I call b.s.

    My choice for this episode (which I didn’t vote in): “In the Heat of the Night,” which was one of the most acclaimed movies of the ’60s and even now has an 8.0 on IMDB (probably because only elderly people who remember and love it voted).
    SLOWEST FUCKING MOVIE EVER.

    Like

    Posted by Michael P. Gowdy | June 1, 2012, 8:41 AM
    • The reason Chaplin is a better film is that it’s a movie about a real life person. I can’t vouch for it’s accuracy, but at the very least it maintains the illusion that I’m learning about a real person and real events. The problem with Kane is that it’s fictional, connections to Hearst aside. That alone shouldn’t be a problem. The problem with Kane as fiction is that it’s a movie about a rich asshole and dies a miserable, lonely old man. We know that up front. Therefore everything that follows lacks tension. The MacGuffin that drives the plot is hard to care about as well. Once we find out, it’s a big so what?

      What keeps Citizen Kane so highly rated is that it is the textbook on cinematic technique. But guess what? All of Welle’s licks got copped by other directors in better films. Citizen Kane is then ultimately a museum piece, something to watch if you want to know what Scorsese was inspired by.

      Like

      Posted by Miguel | June 1, 2012, 8:38 PM
  15. It seems racially insensitive to have Ryan Gosling play Logan.

    Like

    Posted by JustBob81 | June 1, 2012, 8:38 AM
  16. So happy to hear Anderson praise The Master clip/trailer. I have watched it about 10 times and yeah. Everything he said is very true.

    Like

    Posted by Anthony | June 1, 2012, 3:12 AM
  17. Wow, I love the fan art.

    Like

    Posted by Sarah | June 1, 2012, 2:36 AM

Leave a Reply

