Podcast

Top 5 Movies You Loved When You Were 9 Years Old (guest: Gil, The 9 Year Old)

The nine-year-old host of The Mutant Season podcast, Gil Letelier, joins Anderson and Bryan to discuss the TOP 5 MOVIES YOU LOVED WHEN YOU WERE 9 YEARS OLD.  Find out how the generations compare to each others in the first PG episode of The Film Vault.

[audio http://traffic.libsyn.com/tfvpodcast/Top_5_Movies_You_Loved_When_You_Were_9_Years_Old.mp3]

Download

Featured Artist: ANOTHERHUMANERROR

Click here for a list of films discussed in this episode.


Discussion

51 thoughts on “Top 5 Movies You Loved When You Were 9 Years Old (guest: Gil, The 9 Year Old)

  1. in 1984:
    Raiders of the Lost Ark
    Flash Gordon (no apologies there)
    John Carpenter’s the Thing (thank you neglectful parenting)
    The Beastmaster
    Clash of the Titans (the original, of course)

    Like

    Posted by Ian Kelleher | August 27, 2012, 11:31 AM
  2. Bryan, even tho I laugh when you do it, STOP laughing when you say “I’m so-an-so…” [insert random famous person’s name here]. LOL
    Anderson, only from seeing your pics, I thought your tats were snakes also. SORRY!

    Gil is hilarious!!!!! I might have to check out his podcast.

    Like

    Posted by Elle | August 24, 2012, 4:28 PM
  3. Great episode, something different. People are being too harsh.

    Like

    Posted by JSW1543 | August 5, 2012, 6:25 PM
  4. I thought the kid was very mature for his age, and his movie selection was respectable. Also, Bryan and Anderson didn’t talk down to him like parents often do. Good episode.

    Like

    Posted by lala peders | July 27, 2012, 1:39 PM
  5. How about an honorable mention to The Last Star Fighter.

    Like

    Posted by Bret | July 26, 2012, 8:36 PM
  6. Wow… so much hate for this episode! I thought it was funny, myself. The kid was bright. Besides, Bryan’s always that annoying. You people aren’t used to it yet?

    Like

    Posted by Alex | July 21, 2012, 8:30 AM
  7. Don’t treat the kid like a retard. Interrupting the conversation every 20 seconds to ask the kid “do you know what _______ is?” was brutal. Endless digressions…. If you’re going to have a guest, give them some space to talk. Try to remember when you were a kid and adults constantly talked down to you and assumed you were several years younger than your actual age.

    Like

    Posted by gdarb | July 20, 2012, 8:53 AM
  8. Bald Bryan does NOT know how to interact with kids, this episode was embarrassing…

    Like

    Posted by Mike | July 19, 2012, 9:50 PM
  9. Offbeat, but not off-putting. Thanks for changing it up occasionally, and yet not going to far off track – Anderson please keep up the “WHAAAAAAAAT”‘s – there ridiculously funny and Bryan please stay daft.

    Like

    Posted by Booch | July 19, 2012, 3:32 PM
  10. I remember being dragged downtown to see 2001 with a huge cold. I was trying hard not to cough during the movie. My dad gave me a horrible throat lozenge. So the movie left me with a bad taste in my mouth. (que rim shot) Other movies I liked were Patton, Kelly’s Heroes, Thunderbolt & Lightfoot and The Good, Bad, & the Ugly. My dad picked the movies we were going to watch, so no kiddie stuff for me. No way in hell was he going to sit through a Disney film.

    Like

    Posted by Milt | July 17, 2012, 8:41 PM
  11. Not to brag, but I saw Masters Of The Universe and Garbage Pail Kids at the drive-in as a double feature when I was a lad.

    Like

    Posted by eric-the-ded | July 17, 2012, 7:16 PM
  12. I love The Film Vault, but this episode was awful. I almost took my Amazon business back to Adam C, but I trust this is a small setback and things will get back to normal next week. Besides this one, the show has been getting better and better. The gambling was a brilliant add. The interaction is great. I am excited when I see a new show available on iTunes.

    Like

    Posted by Lou | July 17, 2012, 7:11 PM
  13. 5. Flight of the Navigator (This was really on no one’s list???)

    4. Stay Tuned (I literally watched this movie 5 times in a single day)

    3. The Mighty Ducks (Cop: Blood, Breath, or Urine? Gordan Bombay: No thanks. I’m full.)-I was actually 10 when this came out, but whatevs.

    2. Home Alone

    1. Beauty and the Beast

    Like

    Posted by Abbi | July 17, 2012, 4:31 PM
  14. Well this is an entry for Top 5 podcasts that crashed and burned.

    I feel like I’ve been raped and I didn’t even get a reach-around. Not even a fondle of the balls *shakey*

    Like

    Posted by John Nicholson | July 17, 2012, 7:48 AM
  15. Another voice to the chorus: painful episode. Humorless and skittish.

    I turned 9 in 1985. My top five would have been:

    1. Back to the Future
    2. A Christmas Story
    3. Kidco
    4. Superfuzz
    5. The Toy

    Honorable Mention: Ghostbusters, Fletch, Indiana Jones, and every other movie I should’ve liked better than I did at age 9.

    Like

    Posted by Justin | July 16, 2012, 8:53 PM
  16. Love the FV – but this one was r-o-u-g-h. The kid seems sharp for his age – and I can see where the guys were trying to do something unique with the premise, but ouch. Looking forward to next weeks topic so that we can move past this one!

    Like

    Posted by Jayson | July 16, 2012, 7:18 PM
  17. Loved the episode. I usually hate kids, but Gil was cool.

    Like

    Posted by dan0 | July 16, 2012, 12:16 PM
  18. A lot of Anderson’s movies were ripped from my childhood. I remember my folks taking me to a drive in double feature of Purple Rain and Police Academy when I was seven. It’s been all downhill since there.
    Beastmaster still holds up, BTW. Great example of what PG used to mean!

    Like

    Posted by LFC | July 16, 2012, 6:56 AM
  19. Hey Bald Brian? Next time you watch Spaceballs check out Optimus Prime on the cover of Spaceballs the coloring book!

    Like

    Posted by Dave | July 16, 2012, 3:43 AM
  20. Guys, I love the show, but you are so used to interrupting each other, you are running over everything that poor little fella says. You ask him a question then just run over what he says. Reminds me of the the film The Watch trailer with Jonah Hill and Ben Stiller. You should practice not running over everything each other says. You are probably used to it because I know that is the only way you can get a word in when working with Adam, but you should relax a bit.

    Like

    Posted by moviejunkie | July 16, 2012, 2:48 AM
  21. I guess I’ll throw in my top 5

    1. Batman
    2. Highlander
    3. Time Bandits
    4. Return of the Jedi
    5. Dragonslayer

    also-ran; Labyrinth, Superman 2, Explorers, The Quest, Legend, Goonies, Flight of the Navigator and The Last Starfighter.

    Like

    Posted by Mike | July 15, 2012, 4:48 PM
  22. Whoa, The Double McGuffin! I barely remembered that movie as a kid and have been trying to figure out the name of it for years. The trouble is that I had remembered it having something to do with “muffin” and not “McGuffin” so I always came up short. Thanks.

    Like

    Posted by Mike | July 15, 2012, 4:38 PM
  23. 5. Santa Claus (Dudley Moore one)
    4. The Lion, The Witch, an The Wardrobe (animated)
    3. Clue
    2. Charlie & The Chocolate Factory (original, obviously)
    1. The Muppets Take Manhattan

    Like

    Posted by Nathan | July 15, 2012, 1:09 PM
  24. First ep I’ve had to shut off half way, mostly due to Bryan’s workman-like interruptions, and the general atmosphere of frantic babbling bombardment from two sides. The kid should have walked out, but he’s a kid, so he couldn’t. I’m going to call out the Producer here. Do your job man.

    Like

    Posted by Michael Hill | July 15, 2012, 12:15 PM
  25. I love the film vault and have been listening for a couple years. Unfortunately I have to say this was probably my least favorite episode, but i’ll be right back next week downloading and enjoying. Off topic but i love astronaut ice cream. keep up the good work guys.

    Like

    Posted by James | July 15, 2012, 9:23 AM
  26. this was painful to listen to, terrible idea to get a nine year old on this show, i fucking hate kids and his taste in movies sucked ass, i’ve never heard bryan and anderson act like bigger faggots than this episode

    Like

    Posted by ANDERSONISWRONG | July 15, 2012, 8:10 AM
  27. didnt hate it so much i turned it off… but i usually listen to every episode twice to catch the stuff i missed trying to do other stuff at the same time… not listening to this one again… kind of unsettling to listen to you guys be condescending and dickish to someone that isnt understanding any of it

    Like

    Posted by Knot Wreally | July 15, 2012, 12:15 AM
  28. I’m looking forward to hating this as much as the next guy. The fact that so many people hate it so much makes me want to listen to it more. I’ve always seen “that kid’s” podcast listed, never was compelled to listen to it, and had no idea it was being brought to you by a 9 year old. -Who did he have to sleep with to get THAT job?

    Like

    Posted by Stacey E | July 14, 2012, 11:52 PM
  29. Sorry guys, but to me this was one of your worst episodes ever, joining the ranks of Top 5 movies to not watch while high. Censoring yourselves is never a good idea, like the episode back on Ace when Anderson tried to not swear / be nice the entire episode. I didn’t give a single fuck what that kid had to say. I thought if your we’re having a nine year old who had his own podcast would have a lot more insight, but instead I had to listen to someone who didn’t know famous actors, directors, and big words. Bryan interrupted him frequently as he continued to add nothing of value to the podcast. This one was painful.

    Like

    Posted by JB | July 14, 2012, 1:40 PM
  30. Fan here at age 48
    We got our first color TV in 72)
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory….the original of course
    War of the Worlds…..the original of course
    Patton….parents loved it…I loved it!

    “smack the TV again…..colors don’t look right…”

    Like

    Posted by Scott in Seattle | July 14, 2012, 12:56 PM
  31. Star Wars
    Bad News Bears (orig.)
    Jaws
    Escape From Witch Mountain
    Fish That Saved Pittsburgh

    Like

    Posted by Brian | July 14, 2012, 8:21 AM
  32. Bryan, you kept kinda putting words in Gil’s mouth, let the guest host speak freelly. Otherwise interesting/different episode!

    Also, I didn’t get a chance to listen to last week’s “Heist” episode until this week. What’s up with the love-affair with HEAT. I agree with Anderson that the movie was too long, but I also thought it was cliche and Pacino nor Dinero’s performances were compelling whatsoever. Plus the end scene at the airport was weak. I don’t get Heat at all. I thought it was a version of Hollywood masterbating all over itself with the Pacino-Dinero thing.

    anyhoo….

    I was 9 in 1986, and these were my “go-to” movies back then

    Golden Child
    Stand By Me
    Back to School
    Back to the Future
    Goonies
    Fletch
    National Lampoon’s Vacation
    Revenge of the Nerds
    Police Academy
    The Terminator
    Star Wars

    Like

    Posted by Tim Tizzle | July 14, 2012, 8:03 AM
  33. You know that line, never work with children or animals? Well it applies here. Jesus it was painful listening to that kid, If I wanted to listen to the pre-pubescent Hollywood schooled vanilla opinions of a child ‘actor’ I would…..well I wouldn’t want to. Podcast deleted after five painful minutes of him being on the show.

    *sighs* very disappointed with the show.

    Like

    Posted by Pete | July 14, 2012, 7:28 AM
  34. Jurrasic Park
    Forrest Gump

    Good show, compelling and rich.

    Like

    Posted by Efrenco | July 14, 2012, 7:22 AM
  35. Gil seemed like a nice kid, but children’s opinions aren’t very interesting or entertaining. Even the subject of this weeks show wasn’t so hot, just about everything most people liked at 9 was terrible so why bother revisiting that? lets just hope this doesn’t become commonplace.

    Like

    Posted by ben | July 14, 2012, 7:08 AM
  36. Great show. Great guest. I am fascinated by Gil’s opinions of movies. Well done, and well executed, gentlemen.

    5) Back to the Future Part II
    4) E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial
    3) Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade
    2) Follow That Bird
    1) Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure

    Like

    Posted by Shinramen | July 13, 2012, 5:47 PM
  37. Now get Katie to hook the guys up with Pete Holmes. Top 5 weird movies? Top 5 talking babies?

    Like

    Posted by Tom | July 13, 2012, 5:31 PM
  38. bad news bears
    carwash
    pink panther strikes again
    food of the gods – anything marjoe gortner
    kenny and company

    this was the heyday of hbo for me. we waited anxiously every month for the hbo guide to show up.
    i seem to be old.

    Like

    Posted by johnny queso | July 13, 2012, 5:18 PM
  39. I’m not sure if the 9 year old became 30 something in this episode or the 30 somethings became 9 year olds.
    Regardless, best episode in a while. Definitely needs to happen when Gil turns 10.

    My films in no particular order:
    Stand by me
    Explorers
    Karate Kid
    Goonies
    Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure
    Legend
    Labyrinth
    Neverending Story

    Like

    Posted by Jeffrey Lebowski | July 13, 2012, 4:48 PM
  40. Great show, almost as good as my bowl of stardust ice cream.

    Like

    Posted by brad haeger | July 13, 2012, 2:16 PM
  41. No Caligula?

    Like

    Posted by O'Day | July 13, 2012, 2:08 PM
  42. Isn’t the first ghost in Ghostbusters the lady in the library. She was much freakier than Slimer. And Beetlejuice showed a very large beetle pouring a glass of orange juice. Come on, guy!

    Like

    Posted by Kevin | July 13, 2012, 12:33 PM
  43. I hope Anderson isn’t registered… =o

    Like

    Posted by Legendary Burro | July 13, 2012, 12:20 PM
  44. 5. Clue
    4. Naked Gun
    3. Batman
    2. Indiana Jones: Last Crusade
    1. Back to the Future

    Like

    Posted by uscrascal | July 13, 2012, 11:32 AM
  45. 1)Starwars
    2)Indiana Jones: Raiders of the Lost Arc
    3)Jaws
    4)Poltergiest
    5)ET
    6)Gandhi
    7)The Exorcist

    Like

    Posted by OCD | July 13, 2012, 10:51 AM
  46. 1. 3 Ninjas
    2. Home Alone.
    3. Wizard of Oz.
    4. D2 mighty ducks
    5. Aladdin.
    6. Lion King.
    7. TNMT 2–Secret of the Ooze.
    8. Heavyweights
    9. Little Rascals
    10. Little Giants
    11. The Mighty Ducks
    12. The Land Before Time
    13. Blank Check

    Like

    Posted by Reed | July 13, 2012, 9:28 AM

Leave a Reply

