Podcast

Top 5 Worst Date Movies

074 Main Photo

 

Valentine’s Day is coming up, and to help you out Anderson and Bryan are going through the TOP 5 WORST DATE MOVIES.  They run down 10 films you should not watch with your date on Valentine’s Day if you want your night to go according to plan.

[audio http://traffic.libsyn.com/tfvpodcast/TFV-Top_5_Worst_Date_Movies.mp3]

Download

Featured Artist: DJ T-Rock & Squashy Nice

Click here for a list of films discussed in this episode.

 

Discussion

39 thoughts on “Top 5 Worst Date Movies

  1. Anderson, did you finish your script? You’re cleaned up!

    Like

    Posted by Renee | February 11, 2013, 8:08 PM
  2. IS THAT MY DAUGHTER…IN THERE!!!???????!!!

    Seriously, that never gets old for me. Great show, guys. Thank you.

    Like

    Posted by Gail | February 11, 2013, 5:39 PM
  3. Anderson you must watch “Compliance”.

    Like

    Posted by Jeremy | February 11, 2013, 3:49 PM
  4. Everyone whines about spoilers in the podcast while spoiling the podcast here. SWEET IRONY.

    Like

    Posted by The Yakuza Film (@yakuzafilm) | February 11, 2013, 2:29 PM
  5. Definitely had my boyfriend watch Shame on one of our first dates. It’s one of my go-to fall asleep movies. We made it through that viewing with only minor judgment from him….. Does that make me strange?

    Like

    Posted by Ashlee | February 11, 2013, 11:38 AM
  6. Oh…But just to add. I have nothing against Anderson I love the son of a bitch.

    He and Bryan work wonders and it’s one of my fave podcasts (even though they do fucking well ignore me on Twitter) plus Anderson repeats certain sentences in a shouty burst of passion, something I am most guilty of…MOST guilty of!

    Like

    Posted by GrindhouseDave | February 10, 2013, 4:37 PM
  7. Has Anderson been bashed on the head recently?

    We’ve had wrongly attributed monologues……..

    CAT III films (which is a Hong Kong rating) described as Korean……

    Juno Temple described as playing a 12 yr old in “Killer Joe” (SHE ISN’T. She says the sex makes her feel like she’s 12 – Matthew McConaughey SAYS THE SAME – as that was the age of her first sexual encounter)……

    And forgetting THE most famous conversation/line (“What have you got”) from “The Wild One” was even in the movie……

    HE can’t blame the chemo!

    Like

    Posted by GrindhouseDave | February 10, 2013, 2:56 PM
  8. Happiness or pretty much any Todd Solandz movie should be on this list. Great call on “In the Company of Men”. I love both of the these movies for the dark humor but that is because I’m sick. Great show.

    Like

    Posted by Jacob | February 10, 2013, 11:49 AM
  9. How can Anderson say Blue Valentine is dull? Agreed, you should never watch that movie on a date and was a great choice for the list but I don’t think there’s a dull moment in it. It’s one of my favorite movies. I think Derek Cianfrance could be a very prominent director in a few years.

    Like

    Posted by Sam | February 10, 2013, 10:55 AM
  10. dogtooth.

    unless, of course, you are dating your sister.

    Like

    Posted by johnny queso | February 9, 2013, 7:12 PM
  11. So Anderson gave Amour 1 star because it made him uncomfortable and disturbed him. Does that mean he would give Irreversible 1 star?
    Never would have expected Anderson to not like an effective, well made movie because it was too heavy for him. I agree with Anderson on most things but i think it was disrespectful to give it 1 star, I don’t think he would have if it wasn’t nominated for an oscar.

    Like

    Posted by Scott | February 9, 2013, 6:34 PM
  12. What does it say about Anderson that he claims, unironically, “Ryan Gosling is the better, more-talented George Clooney?”

    To me, it says Anderson doesn’t know the difference between an adult and an adolescent, which I guess is consistent with everything he says/does on TFV.

    Can you imagine Ryan fucking Gosling making a movie like Syriana and not being the superherosuperagent who saves the day? Can you imagine him making The American and — spoiler alert — dying in the end? Can you imagine him making Michael Clayton and keeping the most-self-aware line of the 2000s, “I’m not the guy you kill?”

    Can you imagine him making Good Night, and Good Luck and NOT BEING EDWARD MURROW?!?!?

    Jesus Christ… Bald Bryan, can you find a new co-host, preferably one who’s not a film school fan-girrrl?

    Like

    Posted by Justin | February 9, 2013, 3:14 PM
    • You’re just mad because he didn’t love your movie with Kelly. Poor guy don’t hate.

      Like

      Posted by Michael McParland | February 11, 2013, 7:38 AM
      • Awesome. I always come back to the page to see what stupefying replies have been posted to my comments. This one is the best ever.

        I have thought pretty hard about it for ten minutes now, and I don’t have he first clue what your reply means. Thanks for that.

        Like

        Posted by Justin | February 16, 2013, 7:28 PM
  13. I would add The Stoning of Soraya M.to the list of worst date movies. Great movie, but very difficult to watch.

    Like

    Posted by Craig | February 9, 2013, 11:57 AM
  14. Please oh please make Bryan watch Trash Humpers

    Like

    Posted by Brian | February 9, 2013, 11:13 AM
  15. You guys finally read one of my Amazon purchases. I bought the home theater receiver.

    Like

    Posted by Scott in NC | February 8, 2013, 12:32 PM
  16. Teeth, in my opinion, is a semi-dark comedy… but then again, I am a gay man.

    Like

    Posted by Paul Barber | February 8, 2013, 12:17 PM
  17. Agreed, Blue Valentine is a crap date movie.

    But it’s a HELL of a movie. If you are a married guy or have been in a long term relationship that turned bad, this movie will give you PTSD-like flashbacks. It’s beyond real, it’s painfully universal and it’s amazing.

    Like

    Posted by jtimes3 | February 8, 2013, 12:09 PM
  18. Who’s the mentally disabled individual that Anderson is posing with?

    Like

    Posted by Ben C. | February 8, 2013, 9:01 AM
  19. I’m so dissapointed to hear Anderson enjoyed Bug. I actually stopped listening to another podcast the moment they said they enjoyed Bug. I will not do that in this case because you guys already have me hooked to this podcast. However, BUG IS HORRIBLE ! Its officially the worst film I’ve ever seen. It has been the only film that before going into the theatre the ticket seller tried to prevent me and my group from going in because it was that bad. And then after the movie was over I actually walked out and tried to get my money back. They told me no because they had attempted to warn me!

    Like

    Posted by Ashlee | February 8, 2013, 7:38 AM
  20. Bryan: “It’s not germane to their love” (smiling smugly at the word he thought of)

    Like

    Posted by Mark | February 8, 2013, 6:44 AM
  21. Great show. I was wondering why you no longer post al the titles that were mentioned on the show? Or maybe I’m just missing it completley.

    Like

    Posted by Michael McParland | February 8, 2013, 6:27 AM
  22. What does it say about me that I knew Anderson’s Most Disturbing list by heart before he said it.

    Like

    Posted by LFC | February 8, 2013, 5:14 AM

Leave a Reply

