Podcast

Top 5 Film Animals

087 - Main Photo

 

Anderson and Bryan find their wild side as they run down the TOP 5 FILM ANIMALS.   Much to Anderson’s displeasure, Bryan’s list has some curveballs, and the guys go through some stats on the gambling segment, revealing who has the most wins under their belt.

[audio http://traffic.libsyn.com/tfvpodcast/TFV_20130510_Top_5_Film_Animals.mp3]

Download – Duration: 1:27:16

 

Featured Artist: The Natural Thrill

Click here for a list of films discussed in this episode.

 

Discussion

43 thoughts on “Top 5 Film Animals

  1. bald bryan is an idiot…but then that’s what happens when the rules for the lists aren’t clearly defined ahead of time;;;

    Like

    Posted by jahwoo | May 24, 2013, 3:52 PM
  2. Why does everybody forget about Ben.

    Like

    Posted by Bruce Hatalski | May 16, 2013, 4:31 PM
  3. Fun episode. I’ve gotta disagree with Anderson about the end of Life of Pi, though. Aside from the fact that it being true would nullify most of the movie, the way the horrific cannibal version of the story comes out is what tells you: Telling the story, and then very passively making up a pessimistic one to appease the insurance guys fits with what we know about Pi’s personality. Telling a wild comfort fantasy and then immediately cracking and confessing to something else doesn’t fit as well. Just my take.

    Also is no one past Bryan trolling? Lot of comments freaking out, but even Anderson’s taking it in stride.

    Also enjoyed Anderson’s insights about the animal actors, great research. Keep it goin guys.

    Like

    Posted by Evan | May 15, 2013, 9:50 PM
  4. I find it somewhat concerning that Anderson values animals more than humans. He has no problem abusing people in his day to day life, but doing so to a stray mutt? Unconscionable!

    Like

    Posted by Jayson James | May 14, 2013, 3:59 PM
  5. Top 5 Episode Ideas:

    – Top 5 most hated films (hated by Anderson and Bryan) can you imagine how angry Anderson will get?

    – Top 5 Oscar award winning films (best picture?)

    – Top 5 favorite films (again by A & B)

    – Top 5 most over-rated films

    – Top 5 that made you cry

    There is my top 5 – top 5s!

    BOOM!

    Like

    Posted by Jayson James | May 14, 2013, 9:15 AM
  6. Anderson, I’ll join you in knocking in the skulls of animal abusers.

    This episode wasn’t my favorite – particularly because of Bry-Bry’s tomfoolery, but I still laughed quite a bit. Really Bryan? Ted? Fucking Ted?

    Like

    Posted by Kleeberg | May 13, 2013, 2:13 PM
  7. Awful episode. Bryan is very obnoxious and not funny.

    Like

    Posted by Dan | May 13, 2013, 8:49 AM
  8. Bryan – We all know you know what you know – so don’t be so insecuro in giving away filmo’s – you effin’ dildo.

    Like

    Posted by BW | May 13, 2013, 8:45 AM
  9. I wished Anderson got more upset at Bryan’s obvious trolling. Good ep nonetheless

    Like

    Posted by That Man | May 13, 2013, 2:16 AM
  10. what is the name of the song that plays in the background while Bryan does his part of the Amazon read? its driving me crazy that i don’t know where i’ve heard it one million times.

    Like

    Posted by thelyon301 | May 12, 2013, 4:19 PM
  11. You guys really brought me back in with top 5 animals. I love a good film discussion but I also like it when you guys just have fun with your topic. Have you guys seen the attached review of Iron Man 3. I know this is kinda old but there was a lot of confusing subtext in Iron Man 3. In particular that wounded veterans will turn on the country (because I guess the VA failed) and it’s pretty much ok to kill them all as long as you’re smart about it.

    Like

    Posted by Mark J | May 12, 2013, 5:23 AM
  12. Have they mentioned the self filmed doc Alone in the Wilderness? The guy makes a freaking wooden lock for his cabin he hand builds. Not of Fuckflix instant though

    Like

    Posted by Dan Smith | May 11, 2013, 8:23 PM
    • This is an amazing documentary. The guy cuts his own timber by hand, builds a beautiful log cabin using only hand tools, has a devout respect for the wilderness and his work ethic is inspiring.

      Like

      Posted by John cash | May 16, 2013, 8:10 AM
  13. I’m the one who bought the webcam (old computer + no Apple products).

    I had a little chuckle at the top of the episode, when Anderson was harassing Bryan about his potential animal choices, including Tauntauns. I was walking by a Tom & Tom’s coffee shop at the time. Lame but then I’m easily amused. 😛

    Like

    Posted by Kristina W. | May 11, 2013, 7:55 PM
  14. Chet, a con just posted this picture on Twitter (pure you, buddy):

    http://s198.photobucket.com/user/DrStrangelove2007/media/BKBhxIfCQAMMAnC.jpg.html

    Like

    Posted by Michael P. Gowdy | May 11, 2013, 5:39 PM
  15. “Worst episode ever!!!” Not really. Love this podcast. Love you guys!

    Maybe as a suggestion… Anderson and Bryan could do top “dysfunctional parents” for

    Father’s Day. Perhaps even movies that have resembled your childhoods.

    I’m an avid listener of The after disaster too.

    Great Episodes Always!

    Like

    Posted by Larson Klagsbrun | May 11, 2013, 1:51 AM
  16. I think the thing that was lacking from upstream color was character development. I was kind of hard on Anderson last week about his review, but I can see how one could ‘not like’ either character. For some reason I was right in there with them. But I think the deal with that movie is that it is about two characters whose motivations are being affected by events they cannot see (its happening to the pigs, shhh) and how they react. The best review I heard described Upstream Color as being a movie about True Love, Parasites, and getting mindfucked.

    Like

    Posted by Andrew | May 10, 2013, 11:54 PM
  17. Well, apparently its summer so why not fuck around. Logan, coming alive in this episode! That Life of Pi discussion at the end was cool. I almost wish they’d make it a more regular thing or actually find a way to work something like that in as a regular segment. I like that TFV is more of a place to come for suggestions and quick takes as opposed to the many podcasts that really dissect the details of movies (basically for people who have already watched them), but I think it would be cool to get a little bit of that here too.

    One other thing I’ve been thinking: the only issue or criticism I’ve ever had w TFV is that many films are discussed repeatedly. I know the ‘top 5’ format leads to some of that, but I also think that Anderson and Bryan just sort of get into that groove and maybe stumble onto the same films in their heads somewhat out of habit. It’s not a big deal at all, but the one area where i think they could improve this drastically is the gambling segment. I wish they’d maybe make themselves a list of films they doubt the other has watched, and they’d like to talk about, that haven’t been discussed on the program and don’t relate to the current flickfessions or top fives. That’d be a good and easy way to spread the love and work in titles that haven’t been discussed each week. Currently, the way they do it almost always leads to a second discussion of a film that was discussed the week before. And that’s cool sometimes, but more often than not, I’d rather have the opportunity to hear about something different. I know Anderson has said he’d wished they’d repeated less, so I figured I’d throw it out there. Don’t mean to be bitchy fan, just a thought.

    Overall. another solid episode!

    Like

    Posted by Pop Joe | May 10, 2013, 6:55 PM
    • Try talking an hour about movies and see if there is any crossover. Bryan and Anderson started this as a hobby and its evolved to a great format. Bryan’s smugness and Anderson’s ex-asshole persona’s are a great mesh.
      I like that they talk about the same movies from time to time since a few stick in your head. I know you’re not bashing them but I like that this isn’t their day jobs to keeps it a least a little loose.
      Looking forward to The Battle of Skunk Skull (sp?)
      Offtop, you thought Netflix has been going downhill, in Canada, and I’m guessing most all other countries, there is no ‘my queue’ or ‘add to instand queue’. Can you imagine a world?

      Like

      Posted by Dan Smith | May 10, 2013, 9:56 PM
      • No, I totally agree with you, Dan. It is the smallest of complaints and I wouldn’t even call it that, just a thought really. I listen to a lot of podcasts and this is my absolute favorite. And I also like the fact that they do talk about some movies repeatedly, it goes a long way to define their tastes and personalities, and sometimes its just really cool to get both takes on a specific movie and even just hear how one of them might change they way they think about a movie after a week of digestion or a recent re-watch. And I know its just their hobbies and all and I also agree that the fact that it’s loose like that is part of the charm. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been listening for years and I’ve recommended them to other people and all. I guess, I was more going from the fact that the hosts themselves have brought up wanting to not overlap so much, and it occurred to me that the gambling segment might be a prime place to put that in action. I was just thinking like if one of them had a random little gem that they might be excited to talk about but it just hasn’t fit, the gambling segment would be a good spot. And obviously, then we, the listeners, might get the chance to check something out we wouldn’t have otherwise. I have checked out so many movies I might not have otherwise heard of bc of hearing about it here. I’m not the dude who listens to someone and then just complains constantly about it.

        Like

        Posted by Pop Joe | May 10, 2013, 11:08 PM
  18. It was quite clear that Bryan was going to try and disrupt this with his nonsense – but I will give him credit for not derailing the entire podcast and props to Anderson for not completely losing his shit. It does seem to me that if you choose a topic where you can’t give your answers when looking directly at your co-host or giggling the entire time, perhaps you’ve chosen a dumb topic OR you’ve disregarded the whole point. But then, your mileage may vary.

    Like

    Posted by greebs | May 10, 2013, 3:28 PM
  19. Thanks for using The Natural Thrill music!!!

    Like

    Posted by Geoff Moss | May 10, 2013, 2:54 PM
  20. I did a search after last weeks podcast and discovered that you can watch or legally download
    RiP! A Remix Manifesto on Vuze (http://vimeo.com/8040182). Enjoy!

    Like

    Posted by Aaron Pownall | May 10, 2013, 1:31 PM
  21. Thanks for using my episode art guys! Resurrect Dead was a great doc, super interesting story and very well made.

    Like

    Posted by Aaron Brock | May 10, 2013, 11:55 AM
    • I also thought Resurrect Dead was awesome. I also noticed something in it that I haven’t heard anyone talk about. (Even though, that could just be me missing that discussion.) Both the dude who made the movie and the tile guy have a history with birds. It’s a small thing, and I assume they put it in the film to show some weird coincidental relationship, but in a story that already made me feel like the weird connective mesh of existence, this detail was sort of chilling. Not in a bad or spooky way, just in sort of a weird, inter-connected way. I’m not trying to get cosmic hippie or anything, I just thought that was an interesting little detail that was there, but glossed over so quickly, I wasn’t sure if it had the relevance I saw or if anyone else even picked up on it. Anyone else notice that?

      Like

      Posted by Pop Joe | May 10, 2013, 7:04 PM
      • Now that you mention it I can recall that. Wow, that Resurrect Dead was awesome.

        Like

        Posted by Andrew | May 10, 2013, 11:57 PM
  22. “Beauty Is Embarrassing” is a great documentary. You should see it Bryan. Then if you’d like to hear more from Wayne White, you should check out his interview on The Adam Carolla Podcast!!

    http://adamcarolla.com/wayne-white-and-ray-oldhafer/

    Like

    Posted by a | May 10, 2013, 11:17 AM
    • I was thinking the exact same thing! I knew that documentary sounded familiar, and i started screaming at Bryan in my head, hoping he would bring it up later in the episode that he actually took part in an interview with the guy on ACS.

      Like

      Posted by Zach | May 11, 2013, 8:08 AM
  23. “Upstream Color” rules, and it is has adorable Pigs in it!!!

    Like

    Posted by Joey Shanks (@joeyshanks) | May 10, 2013, 9:48 AM
  24. Did Anderson really ask “Why does anyone sample when they can record the sounds of nature?” Jesus Christ.

    Like

    Posted by Logan | May 10, 2013, 7:52 AM
  25. Brian is the best! I could not stop laughing at his list and how smug he sounded! Anderson, please Vine more so we can see the Brian at those moments!!!!
    Great episode!

    Logan you suck

    Like

    Posted by grandetuba | May 10, 2013, 7:05 AM
  26. “Worst episode ever!!!” Not really. Love this podcast. Love you guys!

    I want to join Anderson as a punisher of animal abusers.

    Like

    Posted by Literalmn | May 10, 2013, 6:38 AM
  27. Looks like bry has blonde hair

    Like

    Posted by ricola | May 10, 2013, 5:04 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Podcast: The Film Vault, Top 5 Film Animals | Prof Booty's Culture Blog - May 15, 2013

Leave a Reply

